a tale of woe: when i was 17 (on voting)

my birthday is at the end of november. and i was 17 for the 2004 elections. and i was really unhappy about that. i wanted to vote. i was educated on who i wanted to vote for, and not being able to make me feel about as hobbled as you can get. i was not a happy girl. i called my state election board and begged them to let me vote. i talked to the politically active parents of a friend to see if there was a loophole ANYWHERE that would let me vote.

there was not.

after the election, i was convinced that my one vote could have changed things.

maybe it wouldn’t have changed anything. but if i’d been able to vote, my voice would have been added to the many voices who were voting. who were flexing their citizen muscles.

so today, like pretty much every election day, i’m going to go vote. there have been a handful of exceptions (when i first became a resident of this city, i had NO idea what elections were happening on a given election day. fail.). but i hold firm to my belief (and my growing understanding) that in order to be a member of this society, you vote. it’s one easy way to make your voice heard. it tells the people running for office that even if you don’t vote for them, you are paying attention, and that you expect them to pay attention to you.

after flexing my citizenship muscles, i am going to the gym to flex my really sore muscles. i am SO responsible it hurts.

but please go vote. i know it seems like, a lot of the time, it doesn’t matter if you vote or not, but my idealist self is certain that the more people who vote, the more the people who want your vote will listen.

love

me

