thanksgiving stories

thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays, i think.

mostly for the food. but also for the stories.

my family is not very big – and for a while, i was the only grandchild. one year, when i was little, i insisted that we all go around the table to say what we were thankful for – and it says a lot about my family that they obliged. it took me some time to realize that you don’t have to say what you’re thankful for in order for others to know you are thankful.

a few years ago, we had two extra people at the table. my nana bought a much bigger turkey than usual. and used the same size aluminum pans. which broke. as black smoke flooded the kitchen, i took the pet bird and small children on the porch to wait until we could breathe indoors. that turkey, by the way, was delicious.

this year, the manfriend is in town, we’re hosting at my parents’ house, and two of my roommates are joining us for thanksgiving. there will be many desserts, sides, and turkey. and no-bull burger for the vegetarian roommate.

anyhow. i have a head cold, so my writing skills are null today. enjoy the holiday, however you celebrate, and i’ll catch y’all on the flip side.

