how to break up with your hairdresser

really, that should be more of a question.

how do i break up with my hairdresser?

especially when it isn’t for a reason to do with her, or her skill. it’s just that i hate the drive to my salon – it is about 20 minutes from my house, and i sort of want something closer.

but i’ve been going to her since november 2007! how do i just leave that? she took me from long hair to the short hair i had up until this summer, and she knows my hair REALLY well.  for example, today she took me, with unwashed, kind of all over the place hair, and polished me up:

right now i’m growing my hair out. and she is helping me get there. so if i go to a new person…what if they aren’t good with my hair? and then i’d feel shame.

i don’t know. i think i’m ready for a new person who is closer, but i’m TERRIFIED of choosing poorly. how do you choose a hair person? do i tell her i’m leaving her for someone closer because i hate the drive? WHAT DO I DO, INTERNETS?

