day 5: shift in plans

every now and then, some nerve in my neck gets overly engaged, and my neck muscles go into full lockdown. i cannot turn my head to the right (always the right), there is constant pain, and no amount of yoga-inspired stretching can fix it. it takes time and patience and the occasional cry, but it goes away on its own schedule.

this morning, for the first time in a long time, that’s what i woke up to. it’s miserable, y’all. it woke me up at 4 am with a gasp. i don’t know what causes it, i don’t know how to fix it, and i hate it.

what i do know is that going for a run when i’m in this much pain is a terrible idea. so i took maggie and annie (the two charming golden retrievers i am watching) for a long walk (30 minutes), am going to find some gentle yoga video on youtube, and won’t be running today. however, as my mom told me, running every day in a row could lead to injury, so one of my runs should be a long walk. today will count as that. i trust my mom’s advice as she is possibly the most running-savvy woman i know.

meanwhile, i’m going to find and take some ibuprofen, drink lots of water, and wait it out.

