Whole 30: Day One

for my friends and loved ones: a friendly warning. today marks day one of my Whole 30 Challenge. until February 12, roughly, I’m cutting out dairy, grains, legumes, alcohol, and potatoes. that means a dietary reboot consisting of lots of veggies, fruit, and lean protein.

for breakfast, I had eggs and ham, and lunch was sweet potato (roasted, and also allowed – just no white potatoes) with sausage/spinach stuffing. the stuffing had beans in it, which I picked out to the best of my ability. lots of water. I’m cutting out coffee because I am so not a fan of black coffee. a few people who have done this before swear that coffee with a dash of coconut milk is just divine. we will see.

I stocked up on greens and such today, and found myself longingly staring at pasta. I’m doing this mostly to break the emotional hold sugar and bread/pasta have on me, and I think my little wistful moment in the grocery store today proves that this is a good idea. I don’t know why, but when I’m stressed or sad or bored, I turn to sweets and carbs. I’m sure it’s as simple as science, but I am tired of it, and would like to be a healthier me. Whole 30 seems like a good first step. I’ll post how it goes, including what I have been warned is called the “kill all the things” stage, when I crave everything ever.

