week three is done {a running update}

i’m writing this on the couch on a laptop that just started making a jet engine noise, so if i die in a ball of fire, i love you all dearly.

one thing this running program is teaching me is how to quiet my perfectionism. i had a bad run friday and had to really remind myself that it was cool if i wasn’t my fastest, if i was more sore than usual – what mattered was that i was running. and that i finished. which i did, and i was hurting and cranky as all frick, but i finished the run, and it was a long run.

my own photographic accountability plan: a photo of my feet after each run

my own photographic accountability plan: a photo of my feet after each run

today’s run was WAY BETTER. i felt sore in a good way, and it was all cloudy and cool out, which is my favorite running weather.

week three stats

i have to point out that my pace is my pace when you take into account my walking intervals. it seems like my running pace is finding equilibrium around 9 minutes per mile, which, hell yes. intervals are really helping my brain recalibrate what i do when i run.

CAT BONUS

and then there was a tiny (skittish) cat at the end of my run, so i was pleased. one of the women in the training group saw a turtle on one of her runs and referred to it as a turtle bonus, so this is my cat bonus. heh.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

