pantene bb cream for hair {product love}

a year ago, zooey deschanel drove me up a wall. then i read the glamour interview with her, and begrudgingly acknowledged that i might think she’s awesome. after watching all of season one of new girl in about two days, i had a series of conversations with my friend that went along the lines of “i like this show, friend”, “well you should, tess, you’re basically her”, “WHAT?”, “you have bangs, you’re a teacher, and you live with boys”.

okay.

fine.

jess day (her character on new girl) has cute jammies, so i’m cool with this. also, she has gorgeous hair all the freaking time.

then i saw an ad for pantene bb cream for hair (technically called ultimate 10 bb creme), and she was in it, and my brain short-circuited along these lines: HAIR SHINY WANT.

pantene

so, an effective ad, i guess, because i finally found a bottle of the stuff. i’ve used it a few times after washing my hair (i wash my hair every two or three days, and experience has taught me that i should not put treatment on my hair when it’s unwashed, unless i’m putting dry shampoo on my head).

a brief synopsis of what this is supposed to do for your hair: everything. repair! smooth! no frizz! strength! unicorns! protect against heat! manage that scalp rug, ladies! you put one or two pumps of the product through damp hair post-shower or you can put some on dry hair to polish it up.

so far, here’s my breakdown of what i love and am not sold on.

love: my hair smells real good. like, hair models probably smell like this ALL the time. i noticed that my hair seems softer, and i’m seeing fewer flyaways (a bonus, because my stick-straight, fine hair tends to get super staticky). it’s also way less tangled (my hair is LONG now, so this is a huge plus). the creme is not greasy at all – silky, really – and i find that one pump of the product is enough for me (i tried two pumps and my hair felt heavier).

not so sold on: i think this is a perfectly fine product. it smoothes, it softens, it detangles. but it’s not as intense a moisturizing experience as i expected, and i think i was expecting more oomph in that department. i’m trying to rehab my hair before i donate it, and deep moisture treatment is something i want for my hair – it gets beat up by ponytail holders, my 800-year-old hairdryer, and sun and wind. i may need a more hardcore product to use once a week on my hair to really pretty it up.

however, for the amount i spent (maybe $6 at bed bath and beyond), this is a worthy product. i don’t really style my hair, so this at least gives me a more polished feel, look, and smell (no seriously, my hair smells awesome today). i’ll definitely use this every time i wash my hair, but i’ll keep searching for something else to do once a week in preparation for donating my hair in a few months.

*pantene did not sponsor this post, or me, or buy me this product. nor does the company know i exist.*

