beach hair in a bottle?

i recently need some new mascara, so ordered via Sephora, where i got to choose three free samples (which is basically why i prefer to order make-up online – i can get freebies there). most of the options were perfume, which…i don’t wear enough perfume to care about free samples of it. there was, however, one sample that i really wanted – bumble & bumble surf shampoo and conditioner. one, i know i like their products. two, it promised beachy hair. three, free sample.

these packets are probably supposed to be easy to open. they're not.

these packets are probably supposed to be easy to open. they’re not.

i have a lot more hair than i used to – it hits between my shoulder blades now, right around where my bra clasp hits. i normally use a sulfate-free shampoo/conditioner from whole foods (it’s the mint scent, and i love it), because shampoo with sulfate gives me dandruff. sexy, i know. i’m pretty confident that this sample is full of sulfates, but it’s a sample, so i’ll survive.

my hair, after two days of no washing, and after a VERY sweaty run. also, i'm sorry that i look so serious.

my hair, after two days of no washing, and after a VERY sweaty run. also, i’m sorry that i look so serious.

initial thoughts in the shower: the products smell light and beachy (like a breeze off the ocean, so kind of salty and brisk and happy), and while i struggled to open the packets, i’m guessing that the real deal is in a bottle that is way more user-friendly. nice lather, and i am big into the creme conditioner – thick but not heavy. post-shower, i followed the suggestion on the product and used the bumble & bumble surf spray (which is a product i have already and use a lot – it gives a nice oomph to my hair without getting crunchy) before drying my hair.

no, i cannot explain why i'm smirking. but please note the voluminous happiness that is my hair

no, i cannot explain why i’m smirking. but please note the voluminous happiness that is my hair

hey there, volume and oomph. i was pleased. my hair did feel a bit dry, which may be due to sulfates (or something? i dunno), but i dug how much body my hair had. also, today, i am really impressed that my hair doesn’t feel greasy or anything, despite walking about some in the muggy DC weather yesterday evening.

a few things i don’t love about this: hello, dandruff. not a ton. just a bit. to be expected. i also don’t like that my hair was drier to the touch after using this product.

a few things that stood out as awesome: very light scent (my hair smelled good but not overwhelmingly perfumed), nice conditioner, gave my hair a volume boost that has lasted two days so far.

i would imagine that, if i’d inherited my parents’ curly hair, this product would be a much more noticeably awesome one for my locks. instead, it’s nice, but i wouldn’t buy it for my own stick-straight mane. if you have waves or curls, though, this may be a worthwhile purchase!

